Skip to main content

A Young Woman Falls Hard for an Impossibly Perfect Man Before He Disappears

THE LIES THAT BIND explores the never-ending search for love and truth --- in our relationships, our careers and deep within our own hearts.

THE VANISHING HALF is June's Barnes & Noble and "GMA" Book Club Selections

In this page-turner, twin sisters who were inseparable as children choose to live in two very different worlds --- one black and one white.

The Late Clive Cussler Teams Up with Robin Burcell for Another Page-Turning Adventure

Husband-and-wife team Sam and Remi Fargo come up against an old enemy while searching for a treasure that has been lost for centuries.

Jennifer Chiaverini Returns to Her Most Famous Heroine, Mary Todd Lincoln

MRS. LINCOLN'S SISTERS is a compelling story of love, loss and sisterhood that is rich with history and suspense.

Enter to Win a Father's Day Prize Package for You or the Special Man in Your Life

Each package includes six fiction and nonfiction books to treat yourself or Dad. The deadline for entries is Monday, June 22nd at noon ET.

Latest Features and Contests


Suspense/Thriller Author Spotlight & Contest: THE LAST FLIGHT by Julie Clark

For fans of Lisa Jewell and Liv Constantine, THE LAST FLIGHT by Julie Clark is the story of two women --- both alone, both scared --- and one agonizing decision that will change the trajectory of both of their lives. We have 25 copies to give away to those who would like to read the book, which releases on June 23rd and will be a Bookreporter.com Bets On pick, and share their comments on it. The deadline for entries is Thursday, June 11th at noon ET.


Bookreporter.com's 16th Annual Summer Reading Contests and Feature

Summer will be here before you know it! At Bookreporter.com, this means it's time for us to share some great summer book picks with our Summer Reading Contests and Feature. We are hosting a series of 24-hour contests for these titles on select days through the end of August, so you will have to check the site each day to see the featured prize book and enter to win. We also are sending a special newsletter to announce the day's title, which you can sign up for here.

Our next prize book will be announced on Monday, June 8th at noon ET.


Bookreporter.com's 15th Annual Father's Day Contest

Father’s Day is a time to celebrate the men in our lives who have raised and loved us. Why not show him your appreciation by inspiring him with a great book? In our 15th annual "Best Books for Dad" contest, we have a selection of books that are perfect gift-giving suggestions for Dad, keeping him busy through the rest of the year. Five readers will be awarded a copy of each of our six featured titles. The deadline for entries is Monday, June 22nd at noon ET.


Bookreporter.com Bets On: HOLLYWOOD PARK: A Memoir, by Mikel Jollett

HOLLYWOOD PARK by Mikel Jollett is a brilliant memoir, with a unique storytelling structure that enhances the read. As a young child, Mikel lived in what started as a commune in California that later devolved into a cult called the Church of Synanon. I confess to being riveted to the behavior that happens in a group like this, but I knew little about Synanon as I started reading.

Bookreporter Talks To...

As part of our mission to expand The Book Report Network, we have been shooting video interviews with authors and posting them on our YouTube channel. We also have been making them available as podcasts. Carol loves interviewing authors, so this feels like a natural.

Mikel Jollett's debut memoir, HOLLYWOOD PARK, is now available and will be a Bets On pick. Raised in the dangerous Synanon cult in California, Mikel recounts his childhood escape and the tumultuous struggle he had to face to fit himself into our world. His conversation with Carol is equally provocative and profound. Watch the video and listen to the podcast.

Carol had the pleasure of talking to Alex George about his latest novel, THE PARIS HOURS, a Bets On selection that follows four ordinary people over the course of a single day in the City of Light in 1927. Their vibrant conversation is filled with tidbits of bookstore humor, writing inspirations and stories of Alex's time in France. Watch the video and listen to the podcast.

Scott Turow's new legal thriller, THE LAST TRIAL, is the 11th book in his series set in fictional Kindle County, Illinois. Carol had a wonderful discussion with Scott about the extensive research into pharmaceutical drug testing that he conducted and how he incorporated it into the book, the intricacies of interpreting the law, and how the internet has changed one’s ability to research a case. Watch the video and listen to the podcast.

» Click here for a complete list of our "Bookreporter Talks To" videos and podcasts, along with upcoming interviews.

Latest Reviews

Hush by James Patterson and Candice Fox - Thriller

Prison is a dangerous place for a former cop, as Harriet Blue is learning on a daily basis. So, following a fight for her life and a prison-wide lockdown, the last person she wants to see is Deputy Police Commissioner Joe Woods. The man who put her inside. But Woods is not there to gloat. His daughter, Tonya, and her two-year-old child have gone missing. He's ready to offer Harriet a deal: find his family to buy her freedom.

The House Guest by Mark Edwards - Psychological Thriller

When British twenty-somethings Ruth and Adam are offered the chance to spend the summer housesitting in New York, they can’t say no. Young, in love and on the cusp of professional success, they feel as if luck is finally on their side. So the moment that Eden turns up on the doorstep, drenched from a summer storm, it seems only right to share a bit of that good fortune. Beautiful and charismatic, Eden claims to be a friend of the homeowners, who told her she could stay whenever she was in New York. They know you’re not supposed to talk to strangers --- let alone invite them into your home --- but after all, Eden is only a stranger until they get to know her. As suspicions creep in that Eden may not be who she claims to be, they begin to wonder if they’ve made a terrible mistake.

Catherine has been married for many years to Murat, an influential Turkish real estate developer, and they have a young son together, William. But when she decides to leave her marriage and return home to the United States with William and her photographer lover, Murat determines to take a stand. He enlists the help of an American diplomat to prevent his wife and child from leaving the country --- but, by inviting this scrutiny into their private lives, Murat becomes only further enmeshed in a web of deception and corruption. As the hidden architecture of these relationships is gradually exposed, we learn the true nature of a cast of struggling artists, wealthy businessmen, expats, spies, a child pulled in different directions by his parents, and, ultimately, a society in crisis.

Isobel Johnson is a devoted teacher who has spent her career in Liston Heights sidestepping the community’s high-powered families. But when she receives a threatening voicemail accusing her of Anti-Americanism and a liberal agenda, she’s in the spotlight. Meanwhile, Julia Abbott, a helicopter mom obsessed with the casting of Liston Heights High's winter musical, makes an error in judgment that has far-reaching consequences for her entire family. Brought together by the sting of public humiliation, Isobel and Julia learn firsthand how entitlement and competition can go too far, thanks to a secret Facebook page created as an outlet for parent grievances.

A killer blizzard sweeping across the Southwest threatens the livelihoods of everyone in the town of Trinidad. But it’s two gunshots that fell Sheriff Caleb York’s unlucky deputy. York knows it was a case of mistaken identity as the bullets were meant for him. It’s the first nasty step in a plan rustled up by former Quantrill’s Raider Luke “Burn ’Em” Burnham --- eliminate the law, corral a team to rob a bank in booming Las Vegas, New Mexico, then lay low. With a treacherous local merchant for cover, and York out of the picture, all they’ll have to do is wait for the calm. Then they get wind of one little hitch: not only is York still alive, but he’s gunning for justice --- and revenge.

Ex-majordomo and bodyguard to an industrial tycoon-cum-U.S. senator, Badja Adeyemi is in hiding and shortly on his way to either a jail cell or a grave, depending on who finds him first. In his final days as a free man, he hires Isaiah Coleridge to tie up a loose end: the suspicious death of his nephew four years earlier. At the time police declared it an accident, and Adeyemi isn't sure it wasn't, but one final look may bring his sister peace. So it is that Coleridge and his investigative partner, Lionel Robard, find themselves in a tiny town in New York State that is home to outsized secrets and an unnerving cabal of locals who are protecting them. At the epicenter of it all is the site of a stalled supercollider project, an immense subterranean construction that may have an even deeper, more insidious purpose.

The Sunday Girl by Pip Drysdale - Psychological Thriller

Taylor Bishop is hurt, angry and wants to destroy Angus Hollingsworth in the way he destroyed her: “Insidiously. Irreparably. Like a puzzle he'd slowly dissembled, stolen a couple of pieces from, and then discarded, knowing that nobody would ever be able to put it back together ever again.” So Taylor consults THE ART OF WAR and makes a plan. Then she takes the next irrevocable step --- one that will change her life forever.

In 2011, Will Parker, the young prodigy CEO of a big tech company, makes a coding mistake that costs a college student her life. To assuage his guilt, he pursues a career in the FBI Cyber Division. Now, Special Agent Will Parker is called to investigate a murder scene at a Comic Con event, where the victim has ties to a radioactive quantum computer that Will was working on before he left his gig as CEO. He discovers the victim was holding an auction for the computer on the Dark Web --- and the bidding is still live. With bidders including a legendary Chinese hacker, Russian criminals sent by the Kremlin, and a corporate executive desperate to escape a scandal, Will once again finds a life in his hands when the victim’s daughter is taken hostage.